The Elements08 Strategic Metals Excellence Centre targets the responsible and sustainable mining of strategic metals. These elements, which are closely related to high technology, have now become essential to answer the needs of consumers. This project, which broaches the field of mining as a whole, distinguishes itself from others in Quebec that are currently researching this theme.

SCIENTIFIC
AND TECHNOLOGICAL GOALS

  • To contribute to the advancement of knowledge in this emerging sector.
  • To transfer and adapt the knowledge already acquired on mining waste management from both base and precious metal mines and environmental protection to that of strategic metal mines.
  • To improve the training of highly qualified personnel.

LINES OF RESEARCH

Geometallurgy

Development of integration methods of geological and metallurgical information to decrease future technical and operational risks as well as to minimize the environmental impact of mining.

Hydrometallurgy

Development of hydrometallurgical pilot processes that are respectful of the environment.

Responsible management of mining waste

Deepening of knowledge on the management of mining waste and restoration of sites where rare earth elements and lithium are mined as well as development of techniques adapted to hydrometallurgical processes that are respectful of the environment.

ABITIBI-TÉMISCAMINGUE:
A MINING REGION

Abitibi-Témiscamingue is one of the only regions in Quebec that offers integrated schooling formed of vocational, college and university training that is directly aligned with the needs of the Quebec mining industry and society in general. The combined expertise of researchers who work for various institutions is recognized on an international level, which makes this region an essential stakeholder in the development of the mining sector.

CONTACT US

Gilles Cossette

Executive Director

819 762-0931, extension 1707

gilles.cossette@cegepat.qc.ca

Jovette Godbout

Scientific Director

819 762-0971, extension 2561

jovette.godbout@uqat.ca

logo logo logo

PARTENAIRE

logo

Le Centre d’excellence sur les métaux stratégiques Éléments08 vise l’exploitation responsable et durable des métaux stratégiques. Ces éléments, intimement liés aux hautes technologies, sont désormais indispensables pour répondre aux besoins des consommateurs. Abordant l’ensemble de la filière minérale, ce projet se distingue des autres actuellement en développement sur ce thème au Québec.

OBJECTIFS SCIENTIFIQUES
ET TECHNOLOGIQUES

  • Contribuer à l’avancement des connaissances dans ce secteur émergeant.
  • Transférer et adapter les connaissances acquises sur les plans de la gestion des rejets miniers provenant de mines de métaux usuels et de métaux précieux et de la protection de l’environnement à celles des mines de métaux stratégiques.
  • Améliorer la formation de personnel hautement qualifié.

AXES DE RECHERCHE

Géométallurgie

Développer des méthodes d’intégration des informations géologiques et métallurgiques afin de réduire en aval les risques techniques et opérationnels ainsi que minimiser l’impact environnemental de l’exploitation.

Hydrométallurgie

Développer des procédés pilotes d’hydrométallurgie respectueux de l’environnement.

Gestion responsable des rejets miniers

Approfondir les connaissances de la gestion des rejets miniers et de la restauration des sites miniers d’éléments de terres rares et de lithium ainsi que développer des techniques adaptées aux procédés hydrométallurgiques respectueux de l’environnement.

L’ABITIBI-TÉMISCAMINGUE :
UNE RÉGION MINIÈRE

L’Abitibi-Témiscamingue est l’une des seules régions du Québec avec une offre de formation intégrée, composée des niveaux de formation professionnelle, collégiale et universitaire, directement orientée sur les besoins de l’industrie minérale du Québec et de la société. L’expertise combinée des chercheurs oeuvrant pour les différents établissements est reconnue à l’échelle internationale, faisant de la région un acteur incontournable du développement du secteur minier.

NOUS JOINDRE

Gilles Cossette

Directeur administratif

819 762-0931 poste 1707

gilles.cossette@cegepat.qc.ca

Jovette Godbout

Directrice scientifique

819 762-0971 poste 2561

jovette.godbout@uqat.ca

logo logo logo

PARTENAIRE

logo